Defensive Driving Instructions

The court has implemented procedures for taking defensive driving. These procedures are for this court and for non CDL holders <u>only</u>. This is to ensure proper disposal of the case once completed. If you have any procedural questions, please contact the clerk of the court. Also note, the court nor does their staff recommend any driving schools. It is the responsibility of the defendant to find a proper school. If an online course will be taken, please make sure it is approved for the State of Texas.

- 1. Once plea is taken by court and request for Defensive Driving is accepted, the court will furnish a 90 day due date to complete all that is required from defendant It is the responsibility of the defendant to make sure no same course has been taken within the past 12 months as per state law to avoid a conviction on their driving record.
- 2. The defendant must obtain a copy of their driving record (type 3A) from the Texas Department of Public Safety. The record is available online at www.texas.gov
- 3. Once Defensive Driving is completed, the school will furnish a certificate of completion that <u>needs to be signed</u> by the defendant. (Any costs associated with taking the course are separate from the court costs).
- 4. A \$146.00 money order is required for the state court fees and mandatory county fee.
- 5. A copy of current insurance is also required upon completion.

All requirements must be completed and turned into the court by the due date. The driving record, \$146.00 fee, copy of current insurance, and certificate of completion need to be turned in together by due date. If not completed by due date, a show cause hearing will be required and the full amount of citation will be assessed upon conviction. In addition, you are subject to a Capias Pro Fine being issued for your arrest.

Justice of the Peace, Cameron County, Texas