
Your Duties as Guardian of the Person 

1. Be the Ward’s Advocate 
You are often required to speak on behalf of your Ward. You should protect your Ward by: 

 Meeting the Ward’s Needs. Make all final decisions for the Ward in residential, medical, and 
other matters. (As a Guardian, you cannot place the Ward in an in-patient psychiatric hospital.) 
By statute, you have a duty to provide care, supervision, and protection for your Ward and to 
provide your Ward with clothing, food, medical care, and shelter as completely as the Ward’s 
resources permit. 

 Visit Regularly. The court expects guardians to visit their wards at least once a month. 
 

2. Submit Annual Report (ANNUALLY)* 

The Guardian of the Person’s Annual Report reports the Ward’s condition to the Court. When 
completing the report, remember: 

 The Annual Report is required by law. 

 Failure to file this report can result in your removal as Guardian. 

 Provide as many details as possible, using form provided by Court. 
 Complete, sign under penalty of perjury, and mail to Cameron County Clerk’s Office. Address 

is on the form. 
 Texas law requires a fee of $15.00 for the processing of each Annual Report to determine 

whether the Guardianship continues to be appropriate, unless an affidavit of inability to pay 
court costs is on file. 

3. Cooperate with the Court Investigator (ANNUALLY) 
The Court’s goal is to have a Court Investigator visit the Ward once a year to assess the Ward’s physical 
condition and living conditions. The Ward may be visited more or less frequently. 

 The Court Visitor will want to speak with the Guardian, too. 
 

4. Report Address Change 
The Court needs the current address and phone number for the Ward & the Gaurdian. 
IF YOU OR THE WARD MOVES, call the County Clerk’s office at (956) 544-0867 to report the address 
change or mail the information to 
Cameron County Clerk’s Office  
Ref: Guardianship  
974 E. Harrison  
Brownsville, TX 78520 
You cannot move the ward into a more restrictive care facility unless you first give at least 7 business days’ 
notice to the Court except in case of emergency. 
You may not move to another state of be absent from this state for more than three months without Court 
permission. If the Ward moves from thi County, consuly with the Court about whether the guardianship should 
be transferred. 



5. Submit Final Report* 
A Final Report must be filed: 

 When the Ward dies (include a copy of the death certificate); 
 When a minor Ward turns 18 years old; 
 If the Court accepts your resignation as Guardian. 

Complete, sign under penalty of perjury, and mail a final Report to the Cameron County Clerk’s 
Office. Ref: Guardianship 974 E. Harrison Brownsville, TX 78520. 

Use the same Court provided form as for the Annual Report, but check the FINAL Report box near the 
top of the first page. 
 

*You may complete and file your Account or Final Report without the assistance of an attorney. Forms for your Annual 
or Final Report of the Person are available on the Cameron County Website under County Court at Law 4 or at the 
Clerk’s office. If you are also the Guardianship of the Estate, note that Texas law requires that you work with your 
attorney to prepare your Annual or Final ACCOUNTS. 

 


