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A Guide for the Texas Independent Executor

Introduction:

This Court has appointed you to a position of great trust and confidence. It is a position that carries
with it a considerable amount of responsibility. Your duties are not easy; however, you will find
them less difficult if you are careful to heed the advice of your attorney. You should contact your
attorney at any time you have questions concerning the handling of this estate. You should never
attempt to handle the affairs of this estate without the guidance of your attorney. The following guide
has been prepared by my office as a supplement to the information given to you by your attorney. It
is only a supplement and not a substitute for his or her advice.

Administration:

The administration of an estate involves (1) gathering the assets of the person who died, (2) paying
his or her debts, and (3) distributing the remaining assets to those entitled to them under the terms of
the Will.

Your Qualifications:

You have been appointed to act on behalf of this estate. However, you are not qualified to act for this
estate until you have taken the oath of office and filed any required bond. Your oath, if not taken at
the hearing, should be taken no later than 20 days from the date the Court signed the order appointing
you as Independent Executor. Generally, a bond is not required for an Independent Executor named
in a Will. (A bond is an insurance policy that insures you meet your responsibilities under the Will
and the Estates Code.) In the event either the Will or the Court requires a bond, the Court must
approve the bond no later than 20 days from the date of the order appointing you. Your bond, if
required, will have to be executed by an authorized corporate surety, and the amount of the bond will
be that specified in the order making the appointment.

Letters Testamentary:

You may order your letters testamentary after you have taken the oath and executed the bond, if a
bond is required. These letters will serve as the evidence of your appointment when dealing with
third persons concerning the affairs of the estate.

Notice to Creditors:

Within 30 days after you have qualified (taken the oath and given any required bond), you must
publish your notice to creditors in some newspaper printed in this county advising all creditors of
your appointment. Within two months after your qualification, you must mail a registered or certified
letter, return receipt requested, to each secured creditor of the estate. A secured creditor is one who
holds a claim secured by a deed of trust, a mortgage, or some other lien upon property. You must file
proof of the above two notices with the clerk’s office. Although the Texas Estates Code does not
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require that you send notice to any other type of creditor, you may want to do so; your attorney
should advise you accordingly.

Notice to Beneficiaries:
Within 60 days of the date the will is probated, you must give a statutorily required notice to the
beneficiaries named in the will.

Some of what is required depends on the date of decedent’s death:

If the decedent died before September 1, 2011:

1 The notices must be sent to all beneficiaries named in the will, regardless of the size of the
bequest.

7 Each notice must include — in addition to other requirements outlined in the statute — a copy of the
will admitted to probate and a copy of the order admitting the will to probate.

If the decedent died on or after September 1, 2011:

7 You are not required to send notice to certain beneficiaries such as (1) a beneficiary who has
received all gifts under the will within 60 days after the will is admitted to probate or (2) a
beneficiary who is entitled to receive aggregate gifts with an estimated value of $2,000 or less.

1 Each notice must include — in addition to other requirements outlined in the statute — either (1) a
copy of the will admitted to probate and a copy of the order admitting the will to probate or (2) a
summary of the gifts to the beneficiary under the will along with the name of the court that admitted
the will to probate, the docket number assigned to the estate, the date the will was admitted to
probate, and, if different, the date the court appointed the personal representative.

Other requirements apply to all of these decedents:

You are not required to give notice to either (1) beneficiaries who “made an appearance” in the
probate proceeding before the will was admitted to probate or (2) beneficiaries who waived the right
to notice in a waiver that meets the statutory requirements and is filed with the Court. requirements
of what must be included with that waiver depend on the date of decedent’s death; your attorney will
advise you about what must be included.

All notices must be sent by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested.

Your attorney will advise you about who must receive notice or sign a waiver and about what must
be included in the notices or waivers.

Within 90 days, you must file an affidavit or certificate with the Court that confirms that notice was
given or explains why it was not given. The Texas Estates Code sets out what must be included in
your sworn affidavit or your attorney’s certificate. Your attorney will help you decide whether to file
an affidavit or a certificate and will advise you about what must be included in whichever one you
file. The Court strongly prefers that you file the affidavit or certificate separately from any other
document. However, if you combine the affidavit or certificate with the Inventory of the Affidavit in
Lieu of Inventory (see below) or any other filing, the title of the document must include both “Notice
to Beneficiaries” as well as a reference to whatever else you have included in the same document.

Inventory or Affidavit in Lieu of Inventory:

Within 90 days after your qualification, you must submit to the Court either a complete inventory of
the estate or — if allowable — an affidavit in lieu of inventory.

In all cases, you, your attorney, and any co-executor must all sign the inventory or the affidavit, and
the attorney must include a signature block with his or her State Bar number.



If the decedent died before September 1, 2011, you must file an inventory. The inventory must be a
complete inventory of the estate, with an attached list of claims owing to the estate (but not debts
owed by the estate). The inventory must contain a list of all the real estate located within the State of
Texas and a list of all personal property, regardless of where that property is located. In compiling
the inventory, you must distinguish between separate and community property belonging to the
estate. Your attorney will advise you as to the legal meaning of these two property classifications.
The inventory must be verified by a sworn affidavit. If the order appointing you requires appraisers
for the estate, then the appraisers must also sign a sworn affidavit to be attached to the inventory. If at
any time during the pendency of this estate you discover additional property, you must file a
supplemental inventory reflecting the newly acquired assets.

If the decedent died on or after September 1, 2011, you must file either an inventory as described
above or an affidavit in lieu of inventory, if appropriate. You may file an affidavit in lieu of an
inventory only if there are no unpaid debts, except for secured debts, taxes, and administration
expenses, at the time the inventory is due, including any extensions.

If you are eligible to file an affidavit in lieu of inventory and choose to do so, the affidavit must:

[ State that all debts, except for secured debts, taxes, and administration expenses, are paid.

"] State that all beneficiaries have received a verified, full, and detailed inventory — as described
above.

"1 Be filed with the clerk within the prescribed time.

Taxes:

For sizeable estates, you as the Executor must file U.S. Estate Tax Return, Form 706. The value of
the gross estate at the date of the decedent’s death governs the liability for filing the U.S. Estate Tax
Return. The return is due nine months after the date of the decedent’s death, unless an extension of
time for filing has been granted. Consult your attorney to determine the size of the gross estate and
your obligations to all taxing authorities.

All taxes must be paid before any estate may be closed.

Your Powers and Duties:

Upon qualification, it is your duty to take possession of all property belonging to the decedent. Any
cash that you receive should be maintained in a bank account separate from your personal funds. You
should never co-mingle property belonging to the estate with your personal assets. You must use
ordinary diligence in the collection of all claims and debts owed to the estate. If necessary, you may
employ an attorney to recover property belonging to the decedent. Your powers to administer the
estate are set out in the Will and the Texas Estates Code. Generally, all powers afforded to a
dependent administrator under the Texas Estates Code are also available to an Independent Executor
without the necessity of court approval, including the sale of real estate under Estates Code Section
356.251 et seq. This Court will not ratify or approve an Independent Executor’s actions.

Claims:

Claims of creditors against the estate may be presented to you at any time while the estate remains
open. You may allow any claim you believe to be a just debt of the estate that is properly presented
to you and authenticated, provided such claim is not barred by an applicable statute of limitation.
Once a claim is presented to you, you should either allow or disallow it. If you reject a claim, the
creditor will have to file suit to secure payment of the claim.



Closing the Estate:
You are ready to close the estate after (1) you have gathered the assets of the estate, (2) the inventory

has been approved, (3) you have paid the debts and taxes, and (4) you have determined who is
entitled to the remaining property. You should begin the procedure to close the estate only upon the
advice of your attorney. You may then deliver the assets of the estate to the beneficiaries who are
entitled to receive the property under the Will. This distribution concludes your responsibility as the
Independent Executor of this estate.

Failure to abide by the law set out in the Estates Code is cause for your removal from your fiduciary
position. Any damage and costs incurred by the estate as a result of these failures will subject you to
liability on your bond.

I, the Independent Executor/Executrix of this estate, attest that I have read the above and understand
its contents.

Executor/Executrix Date

Phone:

Email:




